Charged with Assault in NC?
This charge can occur if you’ve threatened bodily harm to someone in a believable way. However, this doesn’t necessarily require you to strike that individual.
This page provides an overview of assault in North Carolina. However, for more specific information, please see the following blogs:
WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF ASSAULTS IN NC?
- Simple Assault
- Assault on a Female
- Assault Inflicting Serious Bodily Injury
- Assault Inflicting Serious Injury
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon with Intent to Kill or Inflict Serious Bodily Injury
- Assault by Strangulation
- Assault by Pointing a Gun
- Assault on Government Officers, Employees and Similar persons
WHAT ARE SIMPLE ASSAULTS?
In North Carolina, simple assaults are considered less serious than other types. A simple assault could be threatening bodily harm to someone when it appears you have the immediate capacity to carry out the threat, or intentionally causing physical contact in an offensive manner.
WHAT CLASSES OF MISDEMEANORS ARE ASSOCIATED WITH THESE CHARGES IN NORTH CAROLINA?
Any person who commits a simple assault, or participates in a simple affray is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.
Unless the conduct is covered under some other provision of law providing greater punishment, any person who commits any assault, or affray is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, if in the course of the action, he commits this offense against a sports official when the sports official is discharging or attempting to discharge official duties at a sporting event.
Unless the conduct is covered under some other provision of law providing greater punishment, any person who commits any assault, or affray is guilty of a Class A1 misdemeanor, if in the course of the action, if that person:
- Inflicts, or attempts to inflict, serious injury upon another person or uses a deadly weapon; or
- Assaults a female, he being a male person over the age of 18 years; or
- Assaults a child under the age of 12 years; or
- Assaults a law-enforcement officer or a custodial officer of the State Department of Correction, while the officer is discharging or attempting to discharge a duty of his office; or
- Assaults a school employee or school volunteer when the employee or volunteer is discharging or attempting to discharge his or her duties; or
- Assaults a public transit operator, including a public employee or a private contractor employed as a public transit operator, when the operator is discharging or attempting to discharge his or her duties; or
- Assaults a company police officer or a campus police officer.
WHAT ARE THE PUNISHMENTS?
Life happens and Gilles Law is here to help! So if you are charged with any crime in North Carolina or South Carolina, Contact us today!