License Suspension in North Carolina
As you may know, the North Carolina DMV can suspend or revoke your North Carolina driver’s license for a number of reasons, including accumulation of DMV points and convictions of certain traffic offenses.
Suspension based on accumulation of driver’s license points
Your NC driver’s license will be suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more in 3 years (or 8 points or more in the 3 years following a license suspension).
Suspension length is dependent upon the number of suspensions you’ve had. Generally, the length of suspension is as follows:
- First suspension: 60 days maximum
- Second suspension: 6 months maximum
- Any subsequent suspensions: 1 year
For more information on NC DMV points, visit our page on NC Points.
Other reasons for driver’s license suspension
In addition to suspension as a result of an accumulation of DMV points, the NC DMV can suspend your driver’s license in many other situations, including but not limited to:
- A conviction of speeding in excess of 15 miles per hour over the speed limit (where ticketed speed is over 55 MPH)
- A conviction of speeding in excess of 75 miles per hour (where speed limit is less than 70 MPH)
- A conviction of speeding in excess of 80 MPH (where speed limit is 70 MPH)
- 2 convictions of speeding faster than 55 mph within 12 months
- 1 conviction of speeding faster than 55 mph and 1 conviction of reckless driving within 12 months
- A conviction of speeding and reckless stemming from the same occasion
- Two reckless driving convictions within 12 months
- Hit and Run with injury or death
- Speeding to elude arrest
This list is not exhaustive. It is also important to keep in mind that the North Carolina DMV can suspend your license for missing your court date or failure to pay fines. Contact a traffic lawyer if you are concerned about a license suspension.