Larceny and other Theft Charges in North Carolina
Theft crimes in North Carolina are governed by N.C.G.S. 14-72 and are classified according to the value of the property or services taken. Larceny (can be misdemeanor or felony) and unlawful concealment of merchandise (shoplifting) are two such theft crimes in NC.
MISDEMEANOR LARCENY – PROPERTY VALUED $1,000 OR LESS
If you are found in possession of stolen goods valued at $1,000 or less, it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. A Class 1 Misdemeanor carries a potential maximum sentence of 120 days in jail and fines of up to $1000. If you have been charged with this, a criminal defense lawyer can help you lessen this charge. They can sometimes even help you avoid jail time completely.
FELONY LARCENY – PROPERTY VALUED MORE THAN $1,000
If you are found in possession of stolen goods valued more than $1,000, you will face a felony charge. You will also face a felony charge if the property is taken from the person of another, if the theft is committed via breaking and entering, or if the property is a firearm. This is a Class H Felony, which carries up to 8 months in prison for a first time offender, but can be increased more depending on the circumstances of your case. If you have been charged with Felony Larceny, it is in your best interest to hire a criminal defense lawyer right away to receive the best possible outcome. So, if you have been charged with larceny, contact us today.
CONCEALMENT OF MERCHANDISE / SHOPLIFTING
Shoplifting is less serious than misdemeanor larceny in North Carolina.
If you have taken steps to conceal store goods on your person and you are apprehended by a store official, it is a Class 3 Misdemeanor. Typically, a Class 3 Misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of up to 20 days in jail.
Furthermore, a second offense of this kind, committed within 3 years of the first offense, will constitute a Class 2 Misdemeanor. Typically, a Class 2 Misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of up to 60 days in jail.