Unlawful possession of a handgun is a criminal charge in South Carolina. In general, possession of a registered handgun by a licensed person is legal in South Carolina. However, there some instances where possession of a gun in South Carolina is against the law. Those cases may require a South Carolina criminal defense attorney to assistant you in understanding what your rights are. Unlawful gun possession is covered by statute.
Unlawful possession of a gun in certain circumstances
- It is against the law to knowingly possess a gun that the defendant knows to be stolen.
- It is against the law to possess a gun that has had the original serial number removed or obliterated.
Unlawful possession of a gun by certain persons – South Carolina criminal statutes do not allow certain people to lawfully possess a gun.
- A person judged to be mentally incompetent
- A personal convicted of a violent crime
- Persons convicted of domestic violence
Criminal classifications for unlawful gun possession in South Carolina
- Misdemeanor – Typically unlawful possession of a handgun in South Carolina is treated as a felony, however there are some instances that it is treated as a misdemeanor.
- If the violator is a law enforcement officer
- If the violator is a licensed hunter
- If the violator is a member of a target shooting club
- Felony – Most other instances of unlawful possession of a handgun in South Carolina are considered felonies and are punished as such if convicted
Criminal punishments for unlawful possession of handgun in South Carolina
- Misdemeanor punishment if convicted includes up to a $1000 and up to 1 year in jail
- Felony punishment if convicted includes up to a $2000 fine and up to 2 years in jail
If you have been charged with any crime in South Carolina, you should contact a Carolina criminal defense attorney immediately. If you need a York criminal defense lawyer or Lancaster criminal defense lawyer, call us today.