Possession of Marijuana In North Carolina
Marijuana possession laws in North Carolina are governed by N.C.G.S. 90-95:
The consequences of marijuana possession depend on how much marijuana was found in your possession.
LESS THAN ½ OUNCE MARIJUANA
If you are found in possession of less than a half-ounce of marijuana, it is a Class III misdemeanor. Typically, a class three misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of up to 20 days in jail.
BETWEEN HALF AN OUNCE AND ONE AND A HALF OUNCES
If you are found in possession of a single ounce, or any amount between .5 and 1.5 ounces, you could face charges of a Class I misdemeanor. A Class I misdemeanor can carry a maximum of 120 days in jail sentence and fines of up to $1000. A criminal defense lawyer can help you mitigate this, and sometimes help you avoid jail time altogether.
MORE THAN 1 ½ OUNCES
If you are found in possession of more than 1.5 Ounces of marijuana, you will face felony charges. This is a Class I felony, which carries up to 12 months in prison. In this case, it is in your best interest to hire a criminal defense lawyer right way. Contact us today.
Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana is a much more serious charge. You can learn more about possession with intent to distribute marijuana here.