Breaking and Entering

Breaking and Entering in North Carolina

Breaking and Entering Charge

Breaking and Entering Charges in North Carolina  are governed by N.C.G.S. 14-54.

FELONY BREAKING and ENTERING

This alleged crime is a  felony if:

  • There was a breaking or entering by you
  • It was a building that was broken into or entered
  • The owner or tenant of the building did not consent to the entry
  • At the time of the breaking and entering, you intended to commit a felony or larceny therein.

This for of Breaking and Entering is a Class H felony and carries up to 15 months in prison for first time offenders, but can be increased substantially based on the circumstances of your case. If you have been charged, it is in your best interest to consult a criminal defense lawyer immediately.

MISDEMEANOR BREAKING AND ENTERING

You may be found guilty of misdemeanor of this crime if:

  • There was a breaking or entering by you
  • It was a building that was broken into or entered
  • The owner or tenant of the building did not consent to the entry
  • At the time of the alleged incident, you acted wrongfully / without any claim of right

This is a Class 1 misdemeanor and carries up to 120 days in jail. If you have been charged with this, a criminal defense lawyer can help you mitigate this charge, and sometimes help you avoid jail time altogether

If you are charged with a crime in North or South Carolina consult a criminal defense attorney as soon possible.  The Attorneys at Gilles Law can help you determine what our best options are.

 
Call Now
Directions