Prostitution Charges in South Carolina
Being charged with Prostitution In South Carolina can come from a wide range of activities. Prostitution charges in South Carolina often come along with solicitation charges in South Carolina.
A defendant can be charged with Prostitution and Solicitation in South Carolina if they are accused of offering sexual services for compensation (money). A defendant can also be charged with Prostitution and Solicitation in South Carolina for accepting sexual services for money. Completion of the sexual act accused is not necessary in order for a charge of prostitution to occur. In order for the state of South Carolina to convict a defendant of Prostitution or Solicitation, the state must simply prove that an offer was made for sexual service, or than an agreement was made for sexual service. Those alleged facts would be enough to support a charge of Prostitution or Solicitation in South Carolina, regardless of whether or not the parties went through with it.
The elements of the crimes of Prostitution and Solicitation in South Carolina.
Under South Carolina law, it is unlawful to:
- Engage in prostitution;
- Aid or abet prostitution knowingly;
- Procure or solicit for the purpose of prostitution;
- Expose indecently the private person for the purpose of prostitution or other indecency;
- Reside in, enter or remain in any place, structure, building, vehicle, trailer or conveyance for the purpose of lewdness, assignation or prostitution;
- Keep or set up a house of ill fame, brothel or bawdyhouse;
- Receive any person for purposes of lewdness, assignation or prostitution into any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building;
- Permit any person to remain for the purpose of lewdness, assignation or prostitution in any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building;
- Direct, take or transport, offer or agree to take or transport or aid or assist in transporting any person to any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building or to any other person with knowledge or having reasonable cause to believe that the purpose of such directing, taking or transporting is prostitution, lewdness or assignation;
- Lease or rent or contract to lease or rent any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building or part thereof believing or having reasonable cause to believe that it is intended to be used for any of the purposes herein prohibited; or
- Aid, abet, or participate knowingly in the doing of any of the acts herein prohibited.
Prostitution and Solicitation Penalties
Punishment for Prostitution in South Carolina
Punishment for convictions of prostitution and solicitation charges in South Carolina typically depend on prior convictions for those crimes.
- First Offense: Max $200 fine, or 30 days in jail.
- Second Offense: Max $1,000 fine or max 6 months in jail, or both.
- Third Offense, or subsequent: Max $3,000 fine, minimum 1 year in jail, or both.
If you have been charged with Prostitution in Rock Hill, South Carolina, or have been charged with Prostitution and solicitation in Lancaster, South Carolina, you should speak to a criminal defense attorney. Contact Gilles Law – 980-272-8438.